Creative Recipe Contest: White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Cookie Dough Truffles

I have a problem. I seem to be in a cheesecake slump. The last 3 attempts at making some sort of cheesecake have ended up disastrous. (You can read about one of them here.) My husband has very charitably given me the benefit of the doubt, and has blamed my sudden inability to bake a cheesecake appropriately on our current wacky oven. Yeah….we’ll go with that. And because I get so grumpy about each failed attempt, he has told me no more cheesecake attempts until we move to somewhere with a more normal oven. So naturally I now have cheesecake on the brain. The funny thing is, I don’t really even love cheesecake all that much. It is one if those desserts I can have a very small piece of and be quite satisfied not to have any more. But now that I can’t make it, I want it of course.

When I read about the Creative Recipe Contest being put on by Cookies and Cups and Confessions of a Cookbook Queen I figured why not give it a try? I don’t own a stand mixer and would be thrilled to win one! That and I thought it would just be a really fun challenge. As I started looking through the recipes to see what I could come up with, I kept getting drawn to the ones containing cream cheese…until my husband reminded me “no cheesecake recipes.” Finally I compromised and settled on Strawberry Cream Cheese Cookies from Cookies and Cups as my recipe to start with. I wanted to switch it up to make white chocolate raspberry instead of strawberry.  As I was bouncing ideas off of my husband, we noticed that the recipe for the cookies didn’t contain any eggs, and the idea evolved into turning them into cookie dough truffles. Yum.

DSC_0233.NEF

So, I’m entering this recipe for White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Cookie Dough Truffles into the Creative Recipe Contest hosted by Confessions of a Cookbook Queen and Cookies and Cups.  It is adapted from this recipe for Strawberry Cream Cheese Cookies. Here’s what I did:  I changed the jam used from strawberry to raspberry, used a little extra flour to stiffen the dough so it was easier to work with, omitted the baking powder, and added 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips to the dough recipe.  Then I chilled the dough for about 1 hour, rolled it into small balls, and dipped into melted white chocolate.  And that’s it!  My advice would be to keep chilled until serving, as the dough softens up pretty quickly once it’s out of the fridge…especially in the hot weather we’ve been having! It might also be helpful to freeze the balls before dipping into the white chocolate, if you have room in your freezer to do so.

My husband and I thought they were pretty tasty though, and all the flavors that I was going for shone through: you could taste the raspberry, white chocolate, and cream cheese quite well. We deemed them a success, and they kind of fulfilled my cheesecake craving…looks like it will have to be good enough for a while anyway, as the only love my springform pan is going to be getting for a while was from holding these truffles!

DSC_0235.NEF

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Cookie Dough Truffles

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 3 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup seedless raspberry preserves
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups of white chocolate chips, divided

With your mixer, beat together butter and cream cheese until fluffy. Mix in brown sugar, milk, and raspberry preserves.  With mixer on low, mix in flour and salt until just combined. Add 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips.

Refrigerate dough for about 1 hour, then roll into balls, using about 1 tablespoonful of dough each.  Chill the dough balls. In a microwaveable container, melt the remaining white chocolate chips by putting in microwave for 30 seconds, stirring, and then microwaving at 10 second intervals until melted. Dip your dough balls into the white chocolate, and then place on parchment paper to dry. If desired you can drizzle the top with colored white chocolate, and trim the excess chocolate off the bottoms as needed.  Enjoy!

Yield: About 30 truffles

** adapted from this recipe for Strawberry Cream Cheese Cookies

4 responses to “Creative Recipe Contest: White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Cookie Dough Truffles

Leave a Reply

