Peanut Butter S’mores Cookies

For some reason this summer I have had a craving for s’mores. Maybe it is because it seems to be the popular flavor combo on food blogs this summer, and all summer long I keep seeing new recipes for various s’more flavored things popping up to tempt me.  I’ve had s’mores several times already, thinking that it might satisfy that craving, but for some reason I just can’t get it out of my brain.  I even thought about making my own homemade s’mores with homemade marshmallows and homemade graham crackers.  That hasn’t happened yet, but I’m not ruling that one out yet either…  What I did make was some peanut butter s’mores cookies.  I’ve actually never had peanut butter on my s’mores before, although I’m really not sure why because it sounds like it would be absolutely delicious. I saw a few recipes for peanut butter s’more cookies and thought I had to give it a try.

By now you know my love of soft cookies. So because I wasn’t entirely sure if some of the recipes I was seeing would make a chewy cookie vs. a crispy cookie I decided to base my recipe off of the peanut butter cookies from Sally’s Baking Addiction because I have tried those before and know that they make a fabulous soft chewy peanut butter cookie.  I took her base peanut butter cookie recipe and then added in 1/2 cup of crushed graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and some marshmallows.  My mistake was adding the marshmallows to the batter, because then when I baked them, the marshmallows completely melted and my cookies were surrounded by some burnt marshmallow goo puddles.  So I picked all the marshmallows back out of the batter, and then added them back in on top of the cookies for the final minute of baking. That worked much better. It doesn’t give you quite the roasted marshmallow flavor that you would get with a real s’more, but at least your cookie isn’t surrounded by a burnt marshmallow goo puddle.

Did this satisfy my s’more craving?  Ummm not sure yet.  I’m not sure that the cookies taste entirely like a s’more enough to say that, or that my craving would have been satisfied even if they did as it hasn’t even been satisfied by the real thing yet!  However, they did turn out quite delicious, and I think I will definitely make them again! My 3 year old is a big fan of the “marshmallow cookies” too. 🙂

DSC_0100.NEF

Peanut Butter S’mores Cookies

  • 1/2 cup  unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of graham crackers crumbs
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips
  • Mini marshmallows

Cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Mix in peanut butter, egg, and vanilla. Slowly mix in flour, salt, and baking soda until just mixed.  Fold in graham cracker crumbs and chocolate chips. Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Drop chilled dough by tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet or silicone baking mat. Bake for 6 minutes, then remove from oven and press several mini marshmallows on top of each cookie (I did 3 on each). Return to oven and bake about 1-2 minutes longer. Cookies will still appear soft and under-done– that’s perfect. Let cool on sheet for a few minutes, then remove to wire rack.

Yield : around 2 1/2 -3 dozen cookies

Leave a Reply

