Frozen Peanut Butter Cheesecake Pie

So blogging is one thing that I have decided that I just don’t have time to do anymore…but sometimes I kind of miss it. And once in a while I end up making something really good that I need to write down somewhere so that I don’t forget how I did it. So despite the fact that I really don’t have time to devote to regularly posting here anymore, or the energy to be able to keep up with the blog too much, once in a while I might still post a recipe just so I have it down on record how I made it before I forget!

I made a peanut butter pie for my husband for Valentine’s Day this year. There are lots of peanut butter pie recipes out there, and I kind of looked at a whole bunch of recipes and ended up doing my own thing that was a bit of a combination of several recipes.  It turned out REALLY good. My husband loved it.  I think I sabotaged my diet for a few days on it. My 3 year old made lots of “yumms” and other satisfied sounding noises while eating it, which is a classic sign that she is thoroughly enjoying it as well.

Since of course I was winging it, I didn’t really keep close track of my measurements, but here’s a close approximation of what I did.

 

Frozen Peanut Butter Cheesecake PiePeanut Butter Pie

  • 1 8-oz package of 1/3 less fat Cream Cheese
  • 4-oz of regular Cream Cheese (1/2 a package)
  • Heaping 1/2 cup of Peanut butter
  • Approximately 1 cup of Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 3/4 cup of milk (or more as needed for the right consistency)
  • 1 8-oz container of Cool Whip
  • 1/4 cup or peanuts, chopped in the food processor
  • 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips
  • Some white chocolate chips, additional peanut butter, chocolate chips, and Reese’s pieces for decorating the top.

Crust:

  • Approximately 20 Oreo Cookies
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, melted.

 

Instructions:

  1. Crunch up your Oreo cookies with a food processor, or rolling pin, or however you want to do it. Add your melted butter and spread into an 8 or 9 inch springform pan, across the bottom and up the sides a little bit.  I’m sure you could also use a pie plate if needed.
  2. Bake the cookie crust at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.
  3. Mix together your room temperature cream cheeses and peanut butter until creamed together.
  4. Add in Confectioner’s sugar, and then stir in milk until you get a thinner consistency.
  5. Fold in the Cool Whip.
  6. Fold in the chopped peanuts and mini chocolate chips.
  7. Try not to eat all the filling, and pour it on top of your cooled crust. Put into the freezer. I made mine the day before and froze it overnight.
  8. Before serving, melt about a tablespoon of butter with about a tablespoon of white chocolate chips in the microwave, then drizzle on top of the pie. Then melt a few tablespoons of chocolate chips in the microwave and drizzle them on top as well. Add whatever extras you wish on top for decoration– I had some Reese’s pieces, so I put those on.
  9. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

